Shared members between interfaces

Nov 14, 2011 at 1:23 PM

Hi,

I'm new to MEF but have my basic plugin manager working (sort of) in my app.

I'm trying to structure such that small pieces of functionality are included in seperate interfaces and then the plugin implements one or mor of these interfaces depending on what they need to support.

Also overtime I can then introduce more interfaces for new plugin points in my host app without breaking existing plugins.

That's the plan anyway.

However stuck on one thing.   

In my host app I load all plugins supporting the particular interface into a list of the Interface type.    So

PluginslistA = all plugins in dir supporting InterfaceA

PluginslistB= all plugins in dir supporting InterfaceB

So now I can loop around each of these lists at my host plugin points to call functionality from the Plugin.  That all works fine.

OK So from my Plugin Side I have:

Class Plugin

Property ABC

end Property

Inplements InterfaceA

Implements InterfaceB

Sub xxxx implements InterfaceA.Sub1

Sub yyyy implements InterfaceB.Sub2

end class

So to my question.   I'd liek to be able to have some common properties/variables in my plugin that are shared between both Intefaces;  what I mean by this is if i loop around all PluginslistA or PluginslistB I's like to be able to reference some common data.

So if i'm calling Sub yyyy from my PluginslistB and I set property ABC  then I want Property ABC same data to be visible when I loop around PluginslistA (ie from Sub xxxx);  howver at the moment they seem to be different instances of the data.

I tried to create at the Interface level and have a "core" interface where I add the properties and then let the other Interfaces inheret ie

Interface Core

Prop ABC

InterfaceA

Inherits Core

Subxxxx

InterfaceB

Inherits Core

Sub yyyy

This exposes the same properties of the core interface but the data instances are different. 

Class Plugin

Property ABC implements InterfaceCore.ABC