Plug-in not updating

Apr 10, 2010 at 10:37 PM

Let me first say that I'm completely new to MEF (just discovered it today) and am very happy with it so far.  However, I've ran in to a problem that is very frustrating.  I'm creating an app that will have a plugin architecture and the plugins will only be stored in a single DLL file (or coded into the main app).  The DLL file needs to be able to be recompiled during run-time and the app should recognize this and re-load the plugins (I know this is difficult, but it's a requirement).  To accomplish this I took the approach covered there (look for WebServerDirectoryCatalog).  Basically the idea is to "monitor the plugins folder, copy the new/modified assemblies to the web application’s /bin folder and instruct MEF to load its exports from there."  This is my code, which is probably not the correct way to do it but it's what I found in some samples around the net:

string myExecName = Assembly.GetExecutingAssembly().Location;
            string myPath = System.IO.Path.GetDirectoryName(myExecName);
            catalog = new AggregateCatalog();
            pluginCatalog = new MyDirectoryCatalog(myPath + @"/Plugins");

exportContainer = new CompositionContainer(catalog);

CompositionBatch compBatch = new CompositionBatch();

private FileSystemWatcher fileSystemWatcher;
        public DirectoryCatalog directoryCatalog;
        private string path;
        private string extension;

public MyDirectoryCatalog(string path)
            Initialize(path, "*.dll", "*.dll");

private void Initialize(string path, string extension, string modulePattern)
            this.path = path;
            this.extension = extension;
            fileSystemWatcher = new FileSystemWatcher(path, modulePattern);
            fileSystemWatcher.Changed += new FileSystemEventHandler(fileSystemWatcher_Changed);
            fileSystemWatcher.Created += new FileSystemEventHandler(fileSystemWatcher_Created);