How MEF discovers Parts

Jan 15, 2010 at 10:25 PM

Hi,

I am new to MEF and I having a quick question.

Let's say I have an app with a dozen possible extension .dlls in a directory.  Now I would like to get all plug-ins that implment a certain interface.

Will MEF load all 12 dlls to search for the plug-ins or will it just examine the assembly manifests?

Thanks in advance,

Kavan

Jan 15, 2010 at 10:39 PM

Using our default catalogs it will load all assemblies to find the exports. Is that a problem?

MEF does support creating cached catalogs using our ReflectionModelServices api. Using that API you could for example invoke mono.cecil or cci to discover available exports. We don't have anything that does as of yet. You can find out more about how the API works in Mike Taulty's post on building a XAML programming model here.

Regards

Glenn 

Jan 15, 2010 at 11:06 PM

Hi Glenn,

My scenerio is as follows, I have different assemblies that contain UI components and loading the assemblies to examine the types triggers a lot of dependent assemblies to load.

The approach I tried before looking at MEF was to decorate any assembly that contains UI exports with an assembly level attribute.  I would then examine all loaded assemblies and perform appropriate cached cataloging.

I say cached catalogin because this done in a designer context (e.g. Blend or VS2010) so it is a bit time sensitive and the loading just makes it worse.  It may also be retriggered when another build occurs.

For loaded assemblies it is not an issue, however, the end-user's project may contain extra assemblies in the project output directory that are not loaded (due to no direct references), but do contain UI parts.