adding a different 'type' to collection , makes GetExportedValueOrDefault fail

Sep 18, 2009 at 11:23 PM
Edited Sep 18, 2009 at 11:27 PM

First of all I am using the excellent sample of Brad Adams:

Silverlight 3 Navigation: Dynamically Loaded Pages… Now MEF Powered!

It really helped me a lot to understand. So I started playing with it

It basically creates a container of all exported <MainPage> in the assemblies.

Which are all exported with a contractname of 'typeof(MainPage)'

in the application start it does the following:

this.RootVisual = container.GetExportedValueOrDefault<MainPage>();

And without my modifications it works fine.

The app.xaml.cs starts like this:

namespace SilverlightMEFNavigation

{

public partial class App : Application {

And I changed that part in the following, basically adding an extra interfase,

an extra export class and extra import property

namespace SilverlightMEFNavigation

{

public interface IMessageSender

{ void Send(string message);

}

public partial class App : Application {

[Export("IMessageSender.Send")]

public class EmailSender : IMessageSender

{ public void Send(string message)

{ Console.WriteLine(message); } }

[Import("IMessageSender.Send",AllowRecomposition = true)]

public IMessageSender MessageSender { get; set; }

So before the container contained only parts of the type <MainPage> , but after this modification it

also hast an EmailSender in it (that is my understanding)

Evrything still works fine.

However now in the actual MainPage I decided that that page is also interested in this

MessageSender so also there I add the following property

[Import("IMessageSender.Send",AllowRecomposition = true)]

So now the import is at two places, in the program class and in the mainpage class.

Compiles fine, but when it runs it gives an exception, it can no longer find the mainpage in this function

Ii is this function that fails:

this

becuase the Getex.. returns null.