PartExportsInheritedAttribute and Metadata behavior

Jul 7, 2009 at 10:46 PM
Edited Jul 7, 2009 at 10:48 PM

Hi again,

I was looking at a way to export certain types without having to mark them with the Export attribute. I found the different threads and blogs on creating custom programming models and even looked at the contrib project.

At one point I started playing around with ParthExportsInheritedAttribute since it would have allowed us to do almost what I wanted but without having to depart from the attributed model that was working quite well.

When doing my own tests I realized that metadata on subclasses wasn't being consumed. I then found the following in the MEF Preview 5 test code:

[Export(typeof(BaseClassWithExportButNoMetadata))]
        [PartExportsInherited]
        public abstract class BaseClassWithExportButNoMetadata
        {
        }

[ExportMetadata("Name", "FromDerivedType")]
        public class DerivedClassMetadataButNoExport : BaseClassWithExportButNoMetadata
        {
        }

[TestMethod]
        public void Metadata_BaseClassWithExportButNoMetadata()
        {
            var container = ContainerFactory.CreateWithAttributedCatalog(
                typeof(BaseClassWithExportButNoMetadata),
                typeof(DerivedClassMetadataButNoExport));

var export = container.GetExport<BaseClassWithExportButNoMetadata>();

Assert.IsFalse(export.Metadata.ContainsKey("Name"), "Export should only contain metadata from the base!");
        }

I found that rather counter-intuitive. In our case, the type exported with the PartExportsInheritedAttribute is an abstract base class, and the different implementation are all marked with a series of attributes that are themselves marked ExportMetadata. I was naturally expecting to be able to have all that metadata available, but I guess MEF is not going to provide that.

What is the rational behind that?