Using MEF with VB

Mar 13, 2009 at 6:52 PM
I have been bouncing around the net looking for something that would allow me to dynamically load and use user controls.  I was directed to MEF and got excited watching the MEF example at PDC2008 and this is what I need.  However, I am a VB developer and work in a VB shop.  I understand that MEF is just a framework that is compiled and referenced and that you tag your imports and exports.  I am having a problem following the usage in C#.  Are there any good VB examples on how to use this?  Specifically I have a core program (the Host) that will contain the common functionality amoung all the parts that will be imported.  So I need to create a host that exposes these functions, the parts need to display themselves as user controls and access these common functions.  Also the host needs to communicate with the parts to set properties.  So if someone has a link or document of how to use VB with MEF so I can start using this design pattern.

Thanks.

John
Mar 15, 2009 at 3:40 PM
I cannot point you at VB documentation right now, remember MEF is in a very preliminary state and honestly the C# docs are pretty limited as well.

However, I can tell you that I use MEF with VB and kudos to the MEF team that there have been no problems.

I will be releasing a composable system for code generation very soon which you may explore as a reference applicatoin.

I think starting up in MEF in either language today is challenging becuase there is not delineation between what you can do and what you should do. I know the team is working on more guidance, and I'm recording some of my explorations at my blog.Leaning Into Windows
Mar 23, 2009 at 7:19 PM
Thank you for the response. I would be interested in anything you can show me in VB. This is a very promising architecture to use if I could get more direction. I am looking forward to anything you can show me.
John
----- Original Message -----
To: [email removed]