Why MEF compared against Unity?

Jan 5, 2009 at 4:18 AM
Edited Jan 5, 2009 at 4:40 AM
I would say that I am relatively new to the application of the IoC and Dependency Injection patterns and am having a difficult time trying to determine why would someone use MEF rather than Unity? They are both DI containers and can both import types from external assemblies, and Unity by the way also supports composition via configuration files. Forgive my stupidity, but what makes MEF so special? Does it have anything to do with MEF's caching capabilities or perhaps its ability to find exported parts in assemblies in an arbitrary path?

So far the only difference that I can tell is the project description. The description is geared more towards being a "extensibility" framework, probably so that it can break convention and not have to stick to the role of a DI container exclusively if an issue arises that warrants it. Forgive me if I am wrong.
Jan 5, 2009 at 7:13 AM
Edited Jan 5, 2009 at 7:14 AM

Hi Jeffrey

MEF and other IoC containers certainly do overlap. What's special about MEF is that it targets a very specific set of problems, namely building applications, frameworks and extensions that have open-ended extensibility