MEF loading multiple instances of my MVVM Modules

Feb 13, 2013 at 6:18 PM
Edited Feb 14, 2013 at 5:54 PM
I'm new to MEF, and MVVM, and I'm having some problems.

I've finally got my View and ViewModel binding in my app; I'll explain what I've got and then the problem, hoping someone could help figure out what my problem is.

I have a host app - MVVM, the main view loads plugins from a dir and displays their name across the top. It also loads some items and displays them down the side.
public class Item
{
public Item()
{
}
public int Number { get; set; }
public string Name { get; set; }
}
To correctly load my modules, I was required to expose a public property of ResourceDictionary in the code behind of the view. I also expose the class of the viewmodel.

In my main app constructor I get all the resource dictionary types and add them to the app.current.resourcedictionary

then I get all my plugins and do a
foreach( var plugin in _plugins)
{
Plugins.Add(p.value);
}
_plugins is an IEnumerable<Lazy<PlugingViewBase, IPluginMetaData>>;
In the constructor of each plugin I generate a GUID and console.writeline the new GUID.

when I call the .value of I get an init in the output, when the resourcedictionary is called I get an init as well...

What I want, is when changing the Item on the left, to update a textblock in the view of the plugin, this does not happen. However I have a button on the plugin view which does correctly update the TextBlock.

I think although all my classes have a creationpolicy shared - it still seems to create more than one instance.

Thanks for reading all that, All this MEF / MVVM is heavy going, so I'd be very glad of any assistance!
Feb 14, 2013 at 6:14 AM
Hi- which MEF version are you using, where are you creating the container, and how do you request the exports/satisfy the imports of the parts involved?

cheers,
Nick
Feb 14, 2013 at 5:53 PM
Edited Feb 14, 2013 at 6:43 PM
Hi Nick,