A shared model

Dec 31, 2008 at 2:55 PM
Edited Dec 31, 2008 at 3:02 PM
I'm quite new to MEF, but as far as I can tell, there is no shared model in MEF.

e.g. the AttributeModel has its _own_ model.

If you want to provide a new way to configure your dependencies, you have to provide a completely new model.

Why arn't there a shared extensible model that can be built up using different model builders?

e.g. having a builder that scans attributes on types and members and builds the model from that.
or a builder that reads an XML config and builds the _same_ model from that.

My impression so far is that you have to implement everything on your own in order to do this sort of things.

current approach ->

Assembly with annotations -> Attribute model

3rd party xml config -> 3rd party model

If this is the case I find it sort of strange.

I would like to see something like:

Assembly with annotations -> Attributed model builder
                                                                                          \
                                                                                             Shared extensible model
                                                                                         /
XML Config                     ->        XML config builder

I might be completely wrong here due to my very limited exposure to MEF, if so, just slap me :-)

Also, there are a crazy amount of "internal" classes in MEF, I do know that it's considered bad design to expose virtual and non sealed classes unless you know they are safe to inherit or override..
But having an "Extensibility" framework where almost every type in the framework is sealed or internal doesn't really open up for extensibillity IMO.

More interfaces and factories in the framework pelase.

//Roger
Jan 16, 2009 at 11:14 PM
Roger,