Composition with Stored Settings

Jan 25, 2011 at 11:58 PM

Hi,

I'm new to MEF and Prism and have a question on what approach to take. Actually I'm not really sure whether this is a MEF or a Prism problem so I'll pose it to both groups.

I want to make a widget based application that enables users to select widgets that show up on a dashboard screen. Now, let's suppose that the dashboard screen can have a number of different layouts (e.g. single column, two columns, equal split, 60/40 split, etc...). This struck me as a good problem for Prism and MEF. I could have plug-ins that implement, say, IDashboardLayout and use MEF to get all of the layouts that are provided by the current catalogs.

What I want to be able to do is somehow store which layout the user has selected, and also which widgets are where in that layout (assume that I have a working settings storage service that is able to persist whatever settings needed, as this is not a storage problem). My real question is, how do I load the correct layout type with the correct settings at the time of composition?

Thanks

Greg

Feb 3, 2011 at 4:49 PM

Basically you need this:

1. Regions identified by names
  2. Widget identifiers (probably want these to be unique or contextual) 
  3. Store what widget belongs to that region in some persistent storage

This is a question about region management not about MEF and that's something Prism does quite well.

Region management or compositional UI architectures are definitely non-trivial. You can only allow yourself so much freedom before you end up with something that's not very useful. What I mean is that there's no single or simple answer how to do this, it boils down to a bit of grunt work.