Mef passing parameters to module

Jun 4, 2010 at 12:01 PM

Hi, I'm studying MEF and I'm not able to resolve a problem.

I have a main application, called MainMEF, and a simple module, called SimpleModule. This one consists of a single UserControl which is loaded dinamically.

When MainMEF starts up, I would be able to pass to the module a reference to main application contained into MainMEF.

I've followed the tutorial by Glenn Block "Building Hello MEF – Part IV – DeploymentCatalog". If is possible I would start from here and add the fix to the above problem.

Thanks in advance.

Developer
Jun 4, 2010 at 5:39 PM

You cannot directly pass data to other modules, the way to do it is to Export the values you want passed and have the module that needs the values import them.

Jun 4, 2010 at 6:12 PM

Could you provide a sample starting from Glenn Block "Building Hello MEF – Part IV – DeploymentCatalog"? Thanks in advance

Jun 4, 2010 at 7:50 PM

One approach is to build a specific service for passing the data that you want. An alternative is to utilize a generic message passing service to do thos. You may want to look at Prism’s EventAggregator or Laurent Bugnion’s MVVM Light Messenger classes. Both allow sending pub/sub type messages which can be used to communicate across modules. Here’s a post on how to use EventAggregator with MEF: http://codebetter.com/blogs/glenn.block/archive/2009/02/23/event-aggregation-with-mef-with-and-without-eventaggregator.aspx

With either of these approaches you can tailor a specific message for a particular module which anyone can fire through importing the messenger/event aggregator.

Glenn

Sent: Friday, June 04, 2010 10:12 AM
To: Glenn Block
Subject: Re: Mef passing parameters to module [MEF:214968]

Could you provide a sample starting from Glenn Block "Building Hello MEF – Part IV – DeploymentCatalog"? Thanks in advance

Read the full discussion online.