Query catalog using type name

Feb 26, 2010 at 5:40 AM
Edited Feb 26, 2010 at 6:01 AM

I am just getting started with MEF.  I am trying to create a modular ASP.NET MVC application.  The idea is to create the MEF container at app startup much like you would an IOC container, and pass the MEF catalog to my controller factory.  The controller factory would query the MEF container in a way simliar to the way MVC locates controllers - by looking for classes that implement System.Web.Mvc.Controller and end in "Controller" - for example "MyApp.HomeController".  Ya know - convention over configuration and all that jazz.

Problem is, I can not query my MEF catalog for the names of the types in the catalog.

What I would love to be able to do is something like the following:

var w = Container.GetExports<ColabNVController, IPluginMetaData>(); 

var z = from v in w
let metadata = v.Metadata 
where metadata.Name == "Plugin1" 
& v.Value.ToString().EndsWith("HomeController")
 select v; 

return z.First().Value; 

I think the above will work, but it would create an instance of every controller when it evaluates the expression - not a good thing.  

I have created a "PluginAttribute" based off "InheritedExportAttribute" so I could pass in a "Plugin" value, and I suppose I could modify that so I could also pass in the controller name.  But, I would prefer to just have to put that "PluginAttribute" on a single base class for an entire plugin.

Poking around, it looks like I might be able to do something by working with the CompositionContainer Catalog.Parts - but I don't know if that is supported or not. 

Any ideas?

Feb 26, 2010 at 11:02 AM